High School

Young Artists Program

In addition to two fully-staged productions in the summer, Civic Theatre’s Young Artists Program (YAP) is a year-round series of workshops and seminars designed just for high school students interested in improving their skills in a professional setting and looking to prepare for college auditions and beyond.

All workshops are taught by performers and instructors with extensive experience locally, regionally and nationally. YAP also includes intensive rehearsals, specialized workshops and performances. Training will focus on developing the skills needed to succeed professionally, including character development, vocal coaching and advanced dance technique.

EXPRESS MASTER CLASSES

YAP Express Master Classes are offered every summer throughout the months of June and July. Join industry professionals to learn essential and advanced theatre techniques such as tap dance, stage makeup, comedy, and more!

Current REVUE! and 42ND STREET cast members MUST enroll for express workshops in order to attend. Use the “cast member” option during enrollment. All workshops are included in summer show participation fees.

YAP Master Classes
June 20 - July 21, 2022
Mondays - Thursdays
5pm - 6pm

$20 per class

Enroll Now

Image for YAP 2022 SUMMER EXPRESS WORKSHOPS

Class Dates

Summer Session:

  • Monday, June 20 Tap Technique Class with Anne Beck
  • Tuesday, June 21 Musical Theatre Dance with Kenny Shepard
  • Wednesday, June 22 Broadway Dance with Anne Beck
  • Thursday, June 23 Tap Technique Class with Anne Beck
  • Monday, June 27 Acting a Song with Johnna Tavianini
  • Wednesday, June 29 Hip Hop with Michael Humphrey
  • Thursday, June 30 Yoga for Performers with Trevor Fanning
  • Monday, July 11 Working Your Audition Cut with Jennie Kistner
  • Tuesday, July 12 Broadway Dance with Anne Beck
  • Wednesday, July 13 Improv with John Goodson
  • Thursday, July 14 Stage Makeup with Melina DeGolyer
  • Monday, July 18 Now That's Comedy! with Cindy Collins
  • Tuesday, July 19 Jazz Funk with Michael Humphrey
  • Wednesday, July 20 Become a Director with John Goodson
  • Thursday, July 21 Musical Theatre Dance with Kenny Shepard


Sign up to receive emails from Civic Theatre.

Be one of the first to hear news about the season and upcoming events. Register with your email address below.

Operating Partners

Logo for Indianapolis Arts CommissionLogo for ArtWorksLogo for JBRWKYLogo for The Center For The Performing ArtsLogo for AW ClowesLogo for City of CarmelLogo for DeHaan FoundationLogo for Carmel City Center